Garden Club Social – Apple Picking

Take Time…

 

IMG_1370

 

“Take time to do what makes your Soul happy.”

 

Above, I’ve posted one of my favorite quotes, which I included in my ‘Seeds of Thought’ stamp collection. I learned this lesson all too well after losing our daughter to breast cancer in 2010. In the spirit of taking time to make my Soul happy, I decided to drive to my sister’s home in southwestern Virginia and spend some time with her.

IMG_1674

 

My sister’s home is nestled in the Shenandoah Valley overlooking the Blue Ridge and Allegheny Mountains. It was a little early for ‘leaf peeping,’ but the weather was Fall-perfect. We had such a wonderful time.

IMG_1678

IMG_1681

 

We perused an antique show, walked an exquisite arts & crafts show (where I purchased a dish by an artisan from North Carolina-Celtic Pottery), and went apple picking at Carter Mountain Orchards. We picked almost a bushel between us. I came home to make 19 jars of Apple Butter, and an apple cake. I even had some apples left over for eating!

You can find the recipe for my apple cake on my cooking/baking blog – My Mother’s Apron Strings.

 

IMG_1676

IMG_1711

IMG_1713

IMG_1728

IMG_1729

 

Slowing down a bit helps me to refuel and find my inspiration. And taking in beautiful views with my sister certainly made my Soul happy.

What do you do to smile?

 


 

Supplies:

Elizabeth Craft Designs:

Susan’s Garden Club – CountryScapes – Backyard 3 Apple Orchard (1078)

Susan’s Garden Club – Garden Notes – Chrysanthemum (1087)

Susan’s Garden Club – CountryScapes – Woods 3 Wheelbarrow & Leaves (1085)

Susan’s Garden Club – Clouds & Grass (1094)

Other:

USArtQuest – Prills

Patterned Paper

6 thoughts on “Garden Club Social – Apple Picking

  1. waw,what a wonderful time you have spent with your sister.Great landscape,and your card express perfectly everything you saw and felt there.Immediately I’ll run away after the apple cake recipe.It looks so good,I can smell it.What do I do to smile? I come to your blog 🙂

  2. Beautiful scenery in your photos! I love fall, and the mountains…well that would just be icing on the cake. I live in flat boring Illinois. I too look at life differently since losing my sister to breast cancer in 2013.

  3. I am so impressed with your techniques. As I watch your videos, I try to figure how to modify your style to fit my physical capabilities. I’m a two time cancer survivor but that survival was costly – I lost my left arm and shoulder. I love creating beautiful cards and so many of our friends are now “collecting” my card. As pleased as I am with these easier floral results, I feel there must be a better approach. I am reaching a stage where I want more realism in my dimensional works and what you show offers that quality. I own several of your dies and look forward to obtaining more. You are such an inspiration. Thank you for sharing your knowledge and love of nature.

    Susan, If you have time, I would love to have you critique some of my work. My cards can only be seen on http://www.pinterest.com/jimbarb916/ (Sorry as I realize these are not your dies but just give me some time and there will be. I’m currently trying to do a more delicate flower arrangement for the family of a lovely 103 year old lady who just passed away.)

    Again, thank you –
    Barb Tobias

    PS – My husband wanted you to know that he was also more than impressed with the quality of your work.

Leave a Reply

