Festival of Lights

Hanukkah begins on Sunday, December 6th, at sundown and is observed by the kindling of lights.  The nine branch menorah has eight lights to represent the 8 days and one additional light, called a shamash (in the center) which will light the other candles.  Other festivities included playing dreidel and making latkes, which is a favorite with my family…especially with homemade apple sauce!

This card, using Els Van de Burgt Studio Candles (#732) sets on top of my Garden Notes Poinsettia (#1090) with White Pine Boughs (#1091).  Both are done in my technique to hand color with Copic Markers and/or shade with PanPastels Set 2/Bright Yellow Green Shade, then emboss using VersaMark and Ranger’s Super Fine Detail embossing powder in clear.

Let’s get started

Step 1:

IMG_2039

I trimmed 100lb white card stock to an A6 size card (6 1/4″ x 4 1/2″) and the second layer (6″ x 4 1/4″) in ECD’s Soft-finish 100lb card stock. I created a diagonal pattern using ECD’s 6mm & 3mm clear double-sided tape, then I applied Silk Microfine Glitter in Royal Blue (#623) on the 6mm strips and Silver (#603) on the 3mm strips.  Assemble card and add Peel Offs (#1016) in Silver around the edges.

IMG_2041

IMG_2040

Step 2:

I die cut the 9 candles, using just the plain candle, with ECD’s Clear Double-Sided Adhesive on top of the 85lb Soft-finish card stock so I could hand color them after applying Silk Microfine Glitter in Warm Diamond (#640).  I used Beacon’s Kid’s Choice glue to adhere them to the top of my card.

IMG_2042

Step 3:

I die cut Garden Notes Poinsettia (#1090)  in 85lb Soft-finish card stock, coloring the bottom leaves with Copic Markers in G99, YG97, and YG95.  The remaining leaves were left white, except I shaded the stem end with PanPastel Set 2 Bright Yellow Green Shade.  Next, I applied VersaMark on all the leaves and embossed with the Super Fine Detail embossing powder.  Once they were set, I add stem lines, using my Leaf Tool on the wrong-side of the leaf, then, bend it up on the right side and applied the PanPastel shade to it.  Finally, I add vein lines.  Assemble the Poinsettia directly on the card below the candles.

To complete the base of the “menorah,” I used my White Pine Boughs (#1091) die cut in 85lb Soft-Finish card stock and hand colored with Copic Markers G28, G85, and YG95.  These boughs were also embossed as above.

Step 4:

I added a few Flourishes (&Branches #1034) die cut in a silver metallic origami paper and set in place under the pine boughs.

 

Elizabeth Craft Designs Supplies:

Susan’s Garden Club

Garden Notes – Poinsettia 6 piece die set

Garden Notes – Whitepine Boughs & Pinecone 4 piece die set

4pcs. All Metal Tool Set

Large Molding Mat 

Leaf Pad 

PanPastels Kit 2 (#30116)

Els van de Burgt Studio

Candles

Flourishes & Branches

Elizabeth Craft Designs

Clear Double Sided Adhesive

3mm (#505)

6mm (#506)

Silk Microfine Glitter

Royal Blue (#624)

Silver (#603)

Warm Diamond (#640)

Peel-Offs/#1016 in Silver

 

Other Supplies:

Beacon’s Kid’s Choice Glue

Copic Markers

USArtQuest Prills/Ribbit

Prisma Color Grey Shade pen

Silver Metallic Origami Paper

 

5 thoughts on “Festival of Lights

  1. This is really a pretty card. I’ll bet it’s even more stunning in person. I’ve found pictures don’t show glitter or metallic very well.

Leave a Reply

