A Victorian Tussie~Mussie for Valentine’s Day

A Tussie-Mussie, or nosegay as it’s commonly known, became popular during the reign of Queen Victoria (1837-1901).  These small bouquets were a popular fashion accessory, as well as, a symbolism from the language of flowers; a way to send a message to the recipient.

I chose Red Roses (for Love), Pansies (for Think of Me) and Baby’s Breath (for Everlasting Love) to display in my “posy holder” created with Els van de Burgt Studio’s Fitted Frames 5/Lace Circles.  As a final touch, I added Suzanne Cannon’s Calligraphic Elements/Heart for a “ribbon” on the holder.

LET’S GET STARTED

STEP ONE

Trim Soft Finish White 100 lb. card stock to a 5 1/2-inch x 5 1/2-inch square and Graphic 45’s Mon Amour Solids & Pattern paper in a 5 1/4-inch x 5 1/4-inch.  Die cut the Fitted Frames in Soft Finish White 100 lb. card stock that has Clear Double Sided Adhesive on the back.  I chose to use the 3 1/2-inch and 3-inch circles for my posy holder.  Die cut Rose 2 eight times in Premium Palette/Crimson Red , Pansy five times and Flowers from Hydrangea seven times in Soft Finish White 85 lb.  Die cut the smaller elm leaf from Woodland Leaves and Berry Branch in Premium PaletteOlive Green.  I die cut the Corners in glossy black card stock with Clear Double Sided Adhesive on the back from Els’ Fitted Frames 1/Lace Rectangle and finally added Starform #1134/Black for the edges.

IMG_2214

 

(I originally trimmed the 5 1/2-inch card with Soft Finish/Rosebud card stock, but decided that took away from the nosegay!)

STEP TWO

Shading the Pansies.  On the white card stock, I first colored the underside with Copic Marker/V25, then I colored the right side of the paper with BV17.  For shading I used PanPastel Violet from Set 1 and added a few character lines with Faber Castell’s  Purple Violet artist pen. Finally, for realism, I used Faber Castell’s White 101 artist pen to shade the outer petals.

IMG_2219

IMG_2220

IMG_2222

IMG_2223

Assemble the Pansies right on the Fitted Frame, adding a Prill/Had Me at Yellow for the center.

STEP THREE

I shaded the Rose 2 petals with PanPastel/Permanent Red Extra Dark from Set 3, then assemble.

IMG_2225

IMG_2224

STEP FOUR

I use the smaller elm leaf from Woodland Leaves for my foliage and die cut 10 leaves to place under the flowers.  To make the Baby’s Breath, I used Els’ Berry Branch with the flowers from my Garden Notes Hydrangea.

IMG_2227

IMG_2230

If you happen to be as detailed as me, I placed a Prill/Ribbit in the center of each of these flowers!!

IMG_2231

Creating a Tussie~Mussie for your Valentine is a special project I hope you try.

 

Elizabeth Craft Designs Products

Susan’s Garden Club

Garden Notes – Rose 2 

Garden Notes – Pansy 

Garden Notes – Hydrangea 

Susan’s Garden – Woodland Leaves 

4pcs. All Metal Tool Set

Molding Pad

Leaf Pad

Pan Pastel Kit 1 

Pan Pastel Kit 3 

Els van de Burgt Studio

Fitted Frames 5/Lace Circles 

Berry Branch 

Fitted Frames 1/Lace Rectangles 

Suzanne Cannon, A Way with Words

Calligraphic Elements 

Elizabeth Craft Designs

6″ x 6″ Clear Double Sided Adhesive #503

6mm Tape #506

Soft Finish White Cardstock 100 lb. #PSF102 and #PSF101 85 lb.

 

 

Other Products:

Copic Markers V28 and BV17

Faber Castell White/101 Artist Pen and Purple Violet.136

Beacon’s Kid Stuff glue

USArtQuest Prills/Ribbit & You Had Me At Yellow

 

 

 

13 thoughts on “A Victorian Tussie~Mussie for Valentine’s Day

  1. In your introduction, I love the meaning of the flowers! Then your explicit explanation, leaves me with knowledge I can do it! Just when I think I have it all, next comes another wonderful idea! Thank you so very much for sharing!

  2. Beautiful just like you! You keep on outdoing yourself each and every time with your wonderful, amazing & not to mention lovely dies! One like me could only wish that my flowers turned out like this! You are truly a master flower creator!

  3. It’s GORGEOUS, Susan!!
    I really enjoy watching your flowers.
    Thanks for sharing…..and greetings from the overseas, Eva.

  4. Susan this is one of the most gorgeous tussie mussie’s I have ever seen. Your talent is truly amazing! Thank you so much for sharing. I have just ordered a Sizzix die that cuts cones with tussie mussies making in mind and I can hardly wait for it to get here…hopefully soon after seeing yours. Thank you again and hugs to you my sweet Susan.

Leave a Reply

