To Every Thing there is a Season…Spring/Day 1

In the King James version of the Bible, there is a passage from Ecclesiastes 3 ~

“There is a time for everything,
and a season for every activity
under the heavens…”

I used this verse as my inspiration to create an unique visual of what it means to me.  I chose my CountryScapes Apple Tree as the focal point of depicting the four seasons.  Today, I’m starting with Spring, but each day this week I’ll do a different season and on Friday I will show you  the finish project I’ve done with a lovely Give-Away.  If you post a comment on any of the following days, you will be entered.

LET’S GET STARTED

Step One

I die cut Els van de Burgt Studio Stitched Oval–the largest and third largest in Soft Finish/White 100 lb card stock, 4 times; the second largest in Premium Palette card stock, one in each color.  Spring–Spring Green, Summer–Grass Green, Autumn–Orange, Winter–Turquoise.

IMG_2345

I also die cut Backyard 3/Apple Tree, twice (for a total of 8 times) in the Soft Finish White 85 lb. card stock with Clear Double sided Adhesive on the back.  I like to build up my pieces to project some dimension!  For Spring, I also die cut CountryScapes Garden Edges/Tulip and Daffodils, Flora 5 Trug basket, Critters 1 Squirrel and Cardinal in the same card stock.

IMG_2346 Step Two

Assemble the Stitched Ovals. Using PanPastels Set 2 (Phathalo Blue Tint for clouds & Bright Yellow Green Shade for grass)and a template created from the Cloud & Grass die, shade the third oval.

IMG_2347

Step Three

Coloring the Tree.  I first used PanPastels Set 3 (Raw Umber) to shade the pieces, then I went over some areas with a sponge applicator with Distress Ink/Walnut Stain and Frayed Burlap.

IMG_2348

IMG_2349

Place tree in the oval. Color tire swing with Copic Markers–E15 for the rope and C7 and E89 for the tire; set in place.

 

IMG_2350

Step Four

Color the Garden Edge Tulips and Daffodils with Copic Markers–R46, Y19, and YG95.

IMG_2351

I trimmed the flowers to fit into my picture.

IMG_2352

Step Five

Die cut about 15-16 branches in Soft Finish White 85 lb. card stock.  Color the branch with Copic E29 and the leaves with YG63.

IMG_2355

IMG_2356

Place the branches on the Leaf Pad and use the Leaf Tool to add stem lines down the center of each leaf.  (Yes, I know it’s tedious, but it’s the detail that counts.) Add these branches to the limbs.

IMG_2357

Step Six

Because this is Spring, I need to create apple blossoms, so I used the little flowers from the Mini Botanticals/Azalea in clusters of three.  I lightly shaded Soft Finish 85 lb. White card stock with PanPastel Set 1 Permanent Red Tint (light pink) before die cutting the blossoms.  Place on the Molding Mat and use the small ball stylus to cup the flowers.  Pick up the individual flowers and lightly dip into Beacon’s Kids Choice glue and adhere to the branches.

IMG_2358

 

Step Seven

Finally, I added a few individual leaves around some of the clusters and colored a Squirrel and Cardinal to complete the scene.

 

IMG_2359

Elizabeth Craft Designs Supplies:

Susan’s Garden Club

CountryScapes – Backyard 3

CountryScapes – Country Critters 1 

CountryScapes – Garden Edges/Tulip

CountryScapes – Garden Edges/Daffodil

CountryScapes – Flora 5/Garden Trug

CountryScapes – Mini Botanicals/Azalea

CountryScapes – Clouds & Grass

4pcs. All Metal Tool Set

Molding Pad

Leaf Pad

PanPastels, Set 1, Set 2 and Set 3

Els van de Burgt Studio

Stitched Ovals

Elizabeth Craft Designs

Soft Finish 85 lb White Cardstock

Soft Finish 100 lb White Cardstock

Premium Palette 85 lb Cardstock- Spring Green, Grass Green, Orange, and Turquoise

Clear Double sided Adhesive

 

Other Supplies

Ranger’s Distress Ink/ Frayed Burlap and Walnut Stain

Copic Markers

Beacon’s Kids Choice Glue

 

 

 

 

258 thoughts on “To Every Thing there is a Season…Spring/Day 1

Leave a Reply

