Wagon Wheel

As card makers, we are able to capture a memory that will last; my card today does just that.  Three years ago, my husband and I moved cross-country from the Pacific Northwest to North Carolina to be closer to our family after we had lost our youngest daughter to breast cancer.  When my dear friend, Els (van de Burgt) found out, she told me of this song by Darius Rucker entitled Wagon Wheel.  “A must to listen to!”

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hvKyBcCDOB4

The lyrics start out…

“Heading down south to the land of the pines

I’m thumbing my way into North Carolina

Staring up the road and pray to God I see headlights

I made it down the coast in seventeen hours

Picking me a bouquet of dogwood flowers

And I’m a-hopin for Raleigh, I can see my baby tonight”

Well, with our car packed up, including our Ragdoll, Rosie, we headed to this land of the pines to build a home and set down roots.  Every time we crossed into another state, we played this song.

LET’S GET STARTED

Step One

Trim Soft Finish 100lb White card stock to a 5 1/2″ x 5 1/2″ card.  Out of the same card stock, but with Clear Double Sided Adhesive I die cut Fitted Squares and Stitched Squares and my CountryScapes Country Fence, Wagon Wheel, Lying Cat and Cardinal.  I die cut Garden Edges Daffodils and Tulips from Soft Finish 85lb White Cardstock (Petals out of Premium Palette/Crimson Red).  I used the larger branch, from Woods 1 tree and die cut it 4 times in Premium Palette/Dark Brown (I like to add dimension).  The Dogwood petals were die cut from Bazzils Prismatic Paper in Cream and the leaves and grasses around the fence were die cut from Premium Palette/Olive.

IMG_2433

IMG_2434

I also made a template from my Cloud & Grass die so I could color the background square.  I used PanPastels-Set 2 Phthalo Blue Tint for the Sky and Bright Yellow Green Shade for the grass.

IMG_2435

IMG_2436

Step Two

I love coloring and that’s why I die cut in white.  I used a combination of Ranger’s Distress Inks to shade my Country Fence and Wagon Wheel.  I shaded the grass with some Distress Ink too. Also, I trimmed the fence, but save any pieces for other projects! Add the wagon wheel.

IMG_2437

IMG_2438

 

Step Three

Add the Stitched Square frame around your square.  Glue the limb pieces together to make two separate sections.

IMG_2439

 

Step Four

To create the Dogwood, I first cup the “calyx” and place them along the branches. Doing this ahead of time and allow them to dry while you create the leaves and flowers.

IMG_2440

Step Five

Leaves are very important in creating the most natural looking flowers.  I first shaded all the dogwood leaves with Distress Ink/Forest Moss on the edges.  Place the leaves, right-side-down, on the Leaf Pad and add a stem line using the Leaf Tool. Bend the leaf in half along this line.

IMG_2441

IMG_2442

Step Six

Using PanPastel-Set 3, Raw Umber, shade down this line.

IMG_2444

Place the leaves, right-side-up, on the Leaf Pad and add vein lines.  Pinch and bend as directed on my YouTube videos.  Place leaves on the branches.

Step Seven

For the Dogwood…first, shade the tips with Copic Marker R59, then place the petals on a non-stick sheet and shade the stem end with PanPastels Set 3/Yellow Ochre Tint.

IMG_2445

IMG_2446

Shape the Petals on the Molding Pad using the Small Loop Tool.

IMG_2447

Set four petals per calyx on the branches.

IMG_2448

Step Eight

Finally, I used a toothpick to dab a small amount of glue to center of each flower and sprinkled Prills/Ribbit to resemble the “bracts” of the Dogwood.

IMG_2449

 

I also added some Daffodils and Tulips around my fence to enhance the feel of Spring.  Of course, our state bird is a Cardinal who happens to be resting on the Wagon Wheel. The refrain of the song goes like this~

“So rock me momma like a wagon wheel

Rock me momma any way you feel

Hey momma rock me

Rock me momma like the wind and the rain

Rock me momma like a south bound train

Hey momma rock me.”

Well, it’s rainy and windy today with threats of severe thunder storms or a tornado, but I’m happy and this is a memory I cherish.

ELIZABETH CRAFT DESIGNS SUPPLIES

Susan’s Garden~Dogwood #1009

CountryScapes

Country Fence #990

Backyard 1/Wagon Wheel #998

Critters 1 #989

Flora 1 #991

Garden Edges-Daffodils #1131

Garden Edges-Tulips #1133

Els van de Burgt Studio

Fitted Squares #1119

Stitched Squares #1118

Soft Finish 100lb White Cardstock #PSF102

Soft Finish 85lb White Cardstock #PSF101

Clear Double Sided Adhesive #502

PanPastels Set 2 #30116 and Set 3 #30117

Premium Palette Cardstock (coming soon)-Dark Brown #PPC06, Olive Green #PPC35, and Crimson Red #PPC10.

USArtQuest Prills/Ribbit (coming soon)

 

Other Supplies:

Copic Marker R59

Ranger Distress Inks/ Walnut Stain, Weathered Wood, Gathered Twig, and Forest Moss.

Beacons Kid Choice Glue

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

13 thoughts on “Wagon Wheel

  1. Dear Susan,

    I love your work and appreciate all that you teach & share with everyone.
    But more importantly, I love the personal sharing you do – heart & soul – hanging it all out there.

    Thanks so much,
    Mary

  2. Every time I see a card you make and your feelings of when you made it, it just inspires me!
    You are truly an inspiration to us all.

  3. I love the perspective you created with this picture. The dogwood blossoms look awesome. It’s as if I am standing beneath a low hanging branch and looking into the distance. Well done as usual.

  4. Thank you so much for sharing your precious memories of Kellie and Caroline! I have a home in Wilmington with a large pink dogwood in my front yard. I don’t see as many of the pink ones as I used to see when growing up in the Goldsboro area. I currently live in North Florida but I do return to my home in Carolina as often as I can…it will always be my home. Enjoy your gorgeous Spring and keep making and sharing your precious memories as sharing memories does keep your loved ones alive. Hugs to you my sweet Susan.

Leave a Reply

