It’s All in the Technique!

I tell everyone, “I was a gardener before I was a paper artist,” and this is why my flowers come as close to nature as I can possibly make them.  Not only dimension, but the paper I use, products for shading and coloring, and today, embossing powder to create a natural-looking wreath to set my flowers on is important to me.  Going that extra distance makes me HAPPY!

This project today started with creating an unique background using a plastic mesh bag that I bought new potatoes in.  Dabbing Distress Ink over the bag made the interesting pattern that I placed my wreath on.  I don’t throw anything away that may be used for backgrounds, something I’m sure you can relate to.

LET’S GET STARTED

Step One

I trimmed Colored Soft Finish card stock/Bright Orange into a 6-inch square card, then, the layer was trimmed to 5 1/2-inch square using Soft Finish White 100 lb card stock.  I also die cut two Round Grapevine Wreaths in this same card stock.

IMG_2672I slid the white square into the mesh bag to create the background print.

Step Two

I used Distress Ink/Crushed Olive to dab over the bag for my background.

IMG_2673

Fill in as much as you can, but the “shading” created by dabbing makes for an interesting look.

IMG_2674

Assemble the card. (Technique #1!)

Step Three

To create the natural-looking wreath, I first colored the white card stock all over with PanPastel/Raw Umber.  Next, I used Distress Ink/Walnut Stain and shaded darker area.  Finally, I used Distress Ink/Weathered Wood to add more depth. I also colored the underside with the Walnut Stain.  Repeat this process with the second wreath.

IMG_2675

IMG_2676

IMG_2677

Once I was satisfied with the color, I used Tsukenko’s VersaMark ink and dabbed all over the wreath.  Then, I used Ranger’s Super Fine Detail/Clear embossing powder to sprinkle over the wreath.  I used a heat gun to set the embossing powder.

IMG_2678

IMG_2679I used a toothpick to dab Beacon’s Kid Choice glue on the underside in several place and set it in place on my card.  Repeat the gluing process with the second wreath, off-setting it on top of the first.

IMG_2680Now, it’s ready for flowers!  (Technique #2!)

Step Four

My inspiration today was my beautiful Viburnum bushes blooming outside.  Spring has definitely come early here in North Carolina, even though this weekend Mother Nature is still reminding us she’s in charge!

IMG_2681Of course, I don’t have a Viburnum in my Garden Notes collection, but I do have a Hydrangea and this variety certainly comes close to that.  After die cutting just the “ball” of the bloom twice, I glued them onto the wreath and added the leaves, shading them as I have instructed in my videos.   Die cut petals in Soft Finish White 85 lb card stock.

IMG_2685

IMG_2686

Once the petals have set, I use PanPastels/Bright Yellow Green Shade and a soft brush to add color to the petals to resemble the flower. (Technique #3!)

IMG_2689Step Five

California Poppies, that grow wild along the freeways, have a little different look than the Oriental Poppies that I have in my Garden Notes collection.  They consist of 4 petals, not 6 or 7, so I trimmed the smaller petal from the die cut piece. (Technique #4!)

IMG_2687

Shade the petals in the center, using PanPastels/Orange.  Shape, pinch and bend as directed on the videos.  The stamen is rolled and the filaments are lightly dipped into glue and then, Yellow Pollen.  I added a couple of Pansies to balance the color on the left side.  Finally, I die cut a few branches, colored, shaded, and embossed as I did the wreath and added some more green leaves.  I finished it off by stamping one of the quotes from “Seeds of Thought–Take Time.”  This quote reminds me no matter how crazy life gets, be happy!

IMG_2688

IMG_2691

Elizabeth Craft Designs Supplies

Garden Notes: Hydrangea #994, Pansy #1089, Poppy #1018, Round Grapevine Wreath #1139

CountryScapes Woods 1/Branche #992

Seeds of Thought–Take Time ##RS008

Soft Finish Cardstock/White 85 lb #PSF101

Soft Finish Cardstock/White 100 lb #PSF102

Colored Soft Finish Carstock/Bright Orange #PSF116

Clear Double Sided Tape 6mm ##506

PanPastel Set 1 #30115, Set 2 #30116

Susan’s Garden Tool Kit #808, Molding Pad #809 or #810, Leaf Pad #811

Beacon’s Kids Choice Glue

Other Supplies

Ranger Distress Ink/Walnut Stain, Weathered Wood, Forest Moss

 

8 thoughts on “It’s All in the Technique!

  1. Susan this wreath is gorgeous and the techniques are awesome! Thank you so much for sharing…I always look forward to your posts! I must give these techniques a try.

Leave a Reply

