In Memory of Kelly

May 14th, will mark the 7th anniversary of our daughter’s passing from breast cancer.  Kelly was only 37 years old.  Statistically speaking, one in eight women will be diagnosed with invasive breast cancer; a statistic I’d rather not know.

Today, I created a card, using my Garden Notes Hydrangea  2 and a wonderful set of dies and stamps I purchased at Ellen Hutson, LLC – “Courage Stamp & Die Set” to benefit Breast Cancer Research Foundation.  Half the cost of the stamps goes to this foundation.

I chose to do the card in shades of a pinky-peach because Kelly said to me once, “Mom, I really don’t like Pink…I wish the color was orange!”  However, hydrangeas were one of her favorite flowers and I have a garden area I’ve planted dedicated to Kelly with hydrangeas and other flowers she loved.  It brings me peace and happiness amidst the loss of a beautiful soul.

LET’S GET STARTED

Step One

First, I cut Colored Soft Finish cardstock, Pink Peach, to a 6″ x 12″ piece.  Fold in half to create a bottom-fold 6″ x 6″ card.  The second layer is Soft Finish 85 lb. white cardstock and trimmed to 5 1/2″ x 5 1/2″.  I die cut the Ribbon and Corners 1 in Graphic 45’s “Portrait of a Lady.”  Garden Notes Hydrangea 2’s stem/head is die cut in a medium green 80 lb. cardstock and also, 100 lb. lighter green cardstock.  Die cut the petal plate twice in Soft Finish 85 lb. White cardstock to give you enough to fill the head of the flower.

Step Two

I used one of the flowers from the “Courage Stamp & Die Set” and VersaMagic “Pixie Dust” and “Persimmon” chalk ink to create a background bouquet.  I used a Leaf from the Set with Distress Ink/Crushed Olive for “foliage”.  Finally, with a bit of watercolor, I extended some stems down.

Step Three

I assemble the stem/head of the Hydrangea, then placed it on the Molding Mat and used the Medium Ball Stylus to shape the head.  It was placed down through the Ribbon and I secured the head with Beacons Kid Choice glue, just around the edges, so you don’t loose the shaping.

Place the individual petals on the Molding Mat or as I use, a “carving block” because it gives a firmer surface.  I also use a round toothpick to cup the centers.

Use Elizabeth Craft Designs small tweezers to pick up the petals, add a bit of Kids Choice glue to the bottom and set in place on the flower head.  Fill the head completely.  I added just three of the smallest leaves that come in the set.\

I also stamped one of the quotes from the Set that best described Kelly’s fight in VersaFine/Black ink.  I also added Starform Stickers/Silver to outline the Ribbon.

Step Four

Once the flower petals have set a bit (about 10 minutes) use PanPastels to “pouch” on color.  I use Bright Yellow Green from Set 2 and Permanent Red Tint (Pink) from Set 1.

“Cancer Divides, We Unite.”  Sadly, I know many of us have gone through this personally with a mother, sister, aunt, or a dear friend.  Please consider donating and let’s see a cure; something I work for everyday of my life.

Elizabeth Craft Designs Supplies

Garden Notes/Hydrangea 2 #1293

Els van de Burgt Studio Corners #1124

Colored Soft Finished cardstock Pink Peach #PSF119

Soft Finished cardstock 85 lb. White #PSF101

Susan’s Garden Tool Kit #808, Molding Mat #809, Leaf Pad #811

PanPastel Set 1 #30115 and Set 2 #30016

Starform Stickers/Silver

Beacon Kids Choice glue

Other Supplies

Ellen Hutson, LLC–Essentials by Ellen/”Courage Stamp & Die Set

Creative Craft/Versa Magic Ink and VersaFine/Black

Ranger Distress Ink/Crushed Olive

 

17 thoughts on “In Memory of Kelly

  1. My heart ❤️ goes out to you. You honour your daughter so graciously with the things she loved.

  2. I’m so so sorry for your loss. Cancer is so scary. My mom has cancer, it s,axes me we can leave the planet but can’t cure this nightmare.

  3. A beautiful post and a lovely card. I’m so sorry your daughter was taken by this terrible disease. I’m a survivor and every day I’m thankful for my precious life, reading stories like this makes me even more so. That’s a wonderful stamp set and I’m sure it will raise lots for the foundation. I dream of a world where no one has to lose their life to this dreadful disease. Blessings, Tracy x

  4. Susan my heart goes out to you there is nothing worse than losing your child no matter the age. Cancer is such a terrible thing. Your card is beautiful and such a wonderful tribute to Kelly. Love and hugs to you. I am going to purchase the set in honor of Kelly ❤

  5. Susan, this is such a beautiful card and message. I love that you have a place in your garden to remember Kelly by. Big hugs to you.

Leave a Reply

