By Request…

A few weeks ago I posted this card on FaceBook and had wonderful responses.  In particular, Babs asked if I could explain how I put this together.  As I have told everyone, I’m always happy to share my paper gardening tips and techniques so you can create beautiful flowers and bouquets.

 

LET’S GET STARTED

Step One

I trimmed a 12″ x 12″ sheet of Colored Soft Finish Cardstock (Perfect Purple) into a 6″ x 6″ folded card.  For the next layer, I used Soft Finish White (230g/85 lb) and trimmed it to a 5 1/2″ x 5 1/2″ square.  Finally, I used Els van de Burgt Studio “Dotted Scallop/Square” die to cut a 3 1/2″ x 3 1/2″ square from the Soft Finish White cardstock that I used Distress Oxide Ink on.

 That creates your “base” for the nosegay of Pansies.

Step Two

To create the nosegay holder, I used ModaScrap’s “Oriental Corner.”  First, cut it in half, then fold along scored lines.  Add clear-double-sided

 

Step Three

I wanted the look of stems showing in the nosegay, so I die cut three of my Garden Notes “Bouquet Stems & Branches” in a medium green cardstock. I use a bit of clear double-sided tape on the underside of the Stems and adhered them in place.

Step Four

To give dimension to the bouquet, I used a technique of making a “dome” so I wouldn’t have to place flowers on top of each other.  To do this, I die cut a small oval (from Els van de Burgt Studio “Fitted Ovals) twice; one in the medium green cardstock I used for the Stems and one in a lighter green (so you could see I cut it twice!)  Place the lighter green piece on the Molding Pad and use the Large Ball Stylus (from my toolkit) to stir the shape and give it dimension.

Use a toothpick and apply glue to the outside of the shape ONLY!  As I’ve said before, glue tends to shrink when it dries and if you applied glue to the center, it will pull your dimension down and defeat the purpose of creating a dome.

Place the light green oval on the center Stems.

Repeat these steps for the medium green oval, setting it on top of the light green oval.

Step Five

The last step before I started making the Pansies, was to tuck in some of Els “Leafy branches in the top.  I cut the branch in half (at a point where it was obvious to cut), and created a stem-line, using my Leaf Tool.

I also added my Garden Notes Ivy Vine once the Pansies were done.  I die cut them in the Soft Finish White cardstock and colored them using Copic Markers (YG91, YG93).

Since I have made Pansies, several times on my blog, I’m going to refer you to a post I did on February 10, 2016–“Egg-trodinary Spring Bouquet” to see how I create my natural-looking flowers.

I hope this helps you to understand how this card was put together.  Have fun making nosegays!

Elizabeth Craft Designs Supplies

Susan Tierney-Cockburn/Garden Notes

Bouquet Stems & Branches (#1190)

Ivy Vine (#1297)

Pansy (#1089)

Tool Kit (#808), Molding Pad (#809) and Leaf Pad (#811)

Els van de Burgt Studio

Leafy Branch (#1033)

Fitted Ovals (#1114)

Dotted Scallop Squares (#1175)

ModaScrap

Oriental Corner (#1386)

Colored Soft Finish Cardstock/Perfect Purple (#PSF 126)

Soft Finish Cardstock/White 230g/85 lb. (PSF101)

Clear Double Sided Tape –6mm (#506) and 3mm (#505)

Beacon Kids Choice Glue

Prills

 

Other Supplies

Ranger Distress Oxide Ink/Wilted Violet and Peeled Paint

Copic Markers (Pansies V09, V15), (Ivy Vine YG91, YG93)

 

 

 

5 thoughts on “By Request…

Leave a Reply

