Dahlia!

My Grandma Gladys (and my mom) taught me all about gardening.  Grandma’s Dahlias won many ribbons and every year I was amazed by the rows of these beauties growing in her garden.  Oddly, when my grandmother passed away in the Fall of 1973, her Dahlias never came up again; gone!  We always said, “she took them to heaven with her!”

I always plant them in my garden and couldn’t wait to add them to my Garden Notes collection.  The colors are so brilliant and the varieties are numerous and your projects, whether they’re cards, tags, or on top of a gift box will definitely put a smile on the recipient’s face.

LET’S GET STARTED

Step One

Die cut two (2) of all the petal pieces and (1) for the center in white 85 lb. (230g) cardstock.  I also die cut two (2) stems–one in 85 lb. (230g) and one in 100 lb. (270g) cardstock as shown.  For the leaves, you can die cut 3 to 4 as desired.

Step Two

For the variegated variety, I colored the white petals, haphazardly, in the desired Copic alcohol pen. As you can see, there’s no “rhyme or reason” with the coloring and I do color the underside as well.

Use Beacon Zip Dry glue to adhere the two stems together for each flower and glue it right on my project.  (Remember, all Garden Notes flowers are constructed directly on your project.)

Step Three

Place the largest petal on the Molding Pad, right-side down and use the Loop Tool to shape it.  Then, use the tweezers to pinch each individual petals, as shown.

Place the “pinched” petal on the Molding Mat again and use the Medium Ball Stylus to stir the shape.

Add some Beacon kids choice glue! with a toothpick to the underside and adhere it to the top of the stem.

Step Four

To build the flower, you will repeat the steps above, graduating in size the petals for the next 7 flower pieces. It’s important to off-set the pieces as you build up the flower!

Step Five

For the last two small flowers, place them right-side down on a firm surface, i.e., rubber eraser, and use the Leaf Tool to stem each individual petal.

Finally, place this small flower, right-side up on the Molding Pad and use the Small Ball Stylus to cup the shape.

Use a toothpick to add a small amount of glue to the underneath, center of the flower and adhere in place.  Repeat with the last flower.

Step Six

The center of the flower is created by applying a small amount of glue to the straight edge of the piece while holding the “tail” with the tweezers.  Then, roll up the shape, flare out the filaments with your fingers, dip the bottom into the glue and adhere to the center of the flower.

Now, all you have to do is add the leaves!  I shaded the leaves, when I did the stem, with Distress Ink/Forest Moss, then, place them right-side down on the Leaf Pad and use the Leaf Tool to add a stem line down the center.  Turn the leaf over and bend it up.  Apply PanPastel/Bright Yellow Green down the center.  Next, place the leaf, right-side up back on the Leaf Pad and use the Leaf Tool to add veins on either side of the stem line.  Pinch the stem of the leaf and turn it right-side down, placing it at a 45-degree angle on the Leaf Pad and use the Medium Ball Stylus to shape the end of the leaf.  Dip the stem end into the glue and adhere under the flowers.

That’s all there is to it.  Have fun with this flower that brings back such great memories for me!

Elizabeth Craft Designs Products

Susan’s Garden/Garden Notes Dahlia #1368

15 thoughts on “Dahlia!

  1. Hi Susan, I love reading your garden stories. When my Aunt passed away in 2001 there was a beautiful white hyacinth and I sprinkled so me of her ashes at the base of the beautiful flower. All of the flowers returned year after year, EXCEPT the white one. When my aunt was here on earth she had no sense of smell, so my only conclusion is that in heaven she must be able to smell the flowers because she kept that white flower and never returned it. A bittersweet memory but I smile knowing she is finally getting to enjoy flowers. Thank you for your beautiful dies, and for teaching us how to use them.

  2. I really miss your video instruction. Please return to that teaching. I have a better understanding of You tube instruction.

  3. I just made my first dahlia. The first one wasn’t so hot. I found it easier to apply the color to the tips after putting the flower together. It wasn’t so messy. I love your flowers

Leave a Reply

